EmBe announces Tribute to Women nominees

March 6, 2019

Seventy-four women, men and businesses have been nominated for EmBe’s 46th annual Tribute to Women celebration.

The event, which serves as EmBe’s premier fundraiser, honors the achievements of women in the community and recognizes women, men and businesses that show a commitment to empowering women and families.

“The impact that women have made in the Sioux Empire region is as long as the history of the area itself. EmBe is honored to be part of the legacy of Tribute to Women, shining a light on the contributions women, men and businesses have made,” CEO Karen Lundquist said. “We are incredibly grateful for the generosity of our nominations in lifting up the amazing people in our community.”

The following women, men and organizations have been recognized by their peers for their outstanding achievements:

Banking & Finance

Angela Shaw, The First National Bank in Sioux Falls
Carrie Wilson, First Bank & Trust
LaRay Behrens, Citi
Sadie Bell, First Bank & Trust

Business Achievement

Gloria Kolbeck, Vanessen’s Hair Design
Jess Jasso, Northwestern Mutual
Katie Pohlson, Sanford Health
Korena Keys, KeyMedia Solutions
Melanie Hammer, Priceless Priorities
Nikki Gronli, SDN Communications
Rebecca Wiener-McGregor, Heal with Hypnosis & Whole Life Happy
Robin K. Kleine, Focus Marketing Group Inc.
Tori Marco, Key Staffing

Community Service

Anelis Coscioni, Toy Lending Library of South Dakota
Beth Jensen, KELOLand Media Group
Gayle Ver Hey, Volt
Harriet Yocum, community volunteer leader
Julie Ward, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Nicole Griese, Griese Law Firm PC
Tatiana Chance, Help 4 Huhas
Teresa Nold, South Dakota Parent Connection

EmBeliever (open to women, men and organizations)

Becky Rasmussen, Call to Freedom
Chelsea Tracy, Chelsea’s Boutique & Underneath the Clothes
Christopher Schenkel, Northwestern Mutual
Debbie Stadley Augustad, Core Soul Pilates Studio
Jeana Goosmann, Goosmann Law Firm
Jim Roddel, Auto Body Specialties
Kennen Barber-Ensz, Barre3
Kira Kimball, Howalt+McDowell Insurance, a Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC company
Lori Dykstra, Girl Scouts – Dakota Horizons
Dr. Matthew A. Barker, Avera Medical Group Urogynecology
Micah Aberson, Sanford Health
Sarah Waltner, Raven Industries
Scott Lawrence, Lawrence & Schiller
Sioux Falls Women Run
Tami Skorczewski, Scarbrough Center at Southeast Technical Institute

Government & Law

Candi Gearman, Sioux Falls Police Department
Connie Larson, U.S. Attorney’s Office
Erica Beck, city of Sioux Falls
Dr. Josephine Dunn-Junius, Sanford Health
Liz Fullenkamp, Avera Health
Meghann Joyce, Goosmann Law Firm
Michelle Abraham, Sioux Falls VA Health Care System
Michelle Boyd, Minnehaha County Sheriff’s Office
Nicole Tupman, Midco
Pamela Reiter, Johnson, Janklow, Abdallah, & Reiter LLP
Shantel Krebs, Avera McKennan
Shellie Slattery, Sioux Falls Police Department

Healthcare & STEM

Amanda Van Aartsen, Midco
Amy Elliot, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Karla Nygren, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center
Katie Shuck, CybHER
Mona Hohman, The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society

Humanities & Education

Nancy Halverson, Levitt at the Falls
Pam Hilber, Avera Health
Rebecca Wimmer, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Sioux Empire
Roberta Bennett, Sioux Falls School District, Washington High School
Susan Foster, Brandon Valley School District
Tanja Pederson, Freedom Elementary

Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award

Diana VanderWoude, Sanford Human Resources: LEAD
Kim Jensen, Avera Health
Micki Lundin, Avera Health
Nancy Wahlstrom, The First National Bank in Sioux Falls
Rita Trager, South Dakota Department of Social Services
Sister JoAnn Sturzl, Presentation Sisters and PRH International

Young Woman of Achievement

Alicia Schumacher, Avera Health
Amy Tulson, Sioux Falls School District
Ashley Nelson, Sanford Health
Courtney Place, See Us Movement
Holly Rader, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce
Jamie Hegge, Lawrence & Schiller
Janean Michalov, The Furniture Mission
Maggie Sweets, Maggie Sweets Photography
Megan Raposa, Argus Leader Media

All members of the community are invited to attend Tribute to Women at 5 p.m. April 18 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center, which is a new venue this year. The evening includes a social hour, silent auction, plated dinner and awards ceremony. Full tables with eight seats are available for $400. Half-tables are available for $200. Individual tickets are $65. Tickets at the door are $75. Tables and tickets are available here.

The funds raised from the event will provide scholarships for children to participate in EmBe’s youth programs, help working parents obtain safe, affordable child care and offer women the tools they need to set and accomplish personal and professional goals in life.

Want to stay in the know?

Get our free business news delivered to your inbox.

EmBe announces Tribute to Women nominees

Seventy-four women, men and businesses have been nominated for EmBe’s 46th annual Tribute to Women celebration.

News Tip

Have a business news item to share with us?

Scroll to top