People You Should Know

NOV. 28, 2017

Augustana University

Three faculty members at Augustana University have received grants from the National Science Foundation.

Drew Alton

Nathan Grau

Eric Wells

Eric Wells, professor of physics, has received a $155,000 grant from the NSF’s experimental atomic, molecular and optical physics program. The grant, which runs for three years, will provide financial support for two students to participate each summer in research examining laser control of molecules. The grant also will cover costs associated with travel to work in collaboration with physics researchers at Kansas State University.

Nathan Grau, associate professor of physics, has been awarded a $120,000 grant that will provide financial support for two students to participate in high-energy nuclear physics research each summer as part of the PHENIX and sPHENIX collaboration.

Drew Alton, associate professor of physics, has received a one-year $19,000 extension of a previous grant that supports Augustana’s participation in a dark matter experiment at Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso in Italy.

The First National Bank in Sioux Falls

Angela Shaw

Lane LeBrun

The First National Bank in Sioux Falls has promoted Lane LeBrun to ag banker.

Angela Shaw, a business solutions manager at The First National Bank in Sioux Falls, has earned designation as an Accredited ACH Professional.


Meta Financial Group

Andrew Underwood

Stacy Surat

Scott Elkins

Meta Financial Group has promoted 10 staff members:

Scott Elkins and Stacy Surat from directors to vice presidents in the financial intelligence unit. They are responsible for the monitoring for money laundering and fraud for all of Meta, including Meta Payment Systems and MetaBank, and have successfully integrated the tax divisions and partners

Andrew Underwood to security analyst III. Underwood started his career at Meta in 2014. In his new role, he is responsible for security assessments of critical vendors and  new applications, and serves as a technical resource on enterprise projects.

Jan Norwine

Aaron Gross

Matthew Byers

Matthew Byers from software engineer to senior software engineer. He has been with Meta for two years.

Aaron Gross to principle software engineer. Gross joined Meta in 2007.

Jan Norwine from business intelligence analyst II to senior business intelligence analyst. She has been with Meta for almost four years.

Dori Perkins

Beau Hudelson

Dan Donohoe

Dan Donohoe and Beau Hudelson from senior financial analyst to finance manager.  He has been with Meta since 2015. Donohoe and his team will support Meta’s lending areas and balance sheet support. Hudelson and his team will support Meta Payment Systems’ division and operational expense areas.

Heidi DeBoer

Dori Perkins from IT auditor to IT audit manager. Perkins has been with Meta for nine years.

Heidi DeBoer from vendor management specialist III to senior vendor management specialist. She has been with Meta for 12 years.


Enterprise Institute

Matthew Paulson

The Enterprise Institute has presented the Spirit of Enterprise Award to Matthew Paulson, founder of MarketBeat and chairman of Falls Angel Fund LLC. MarketBeat is a digital publishing company that provides real-time financial information to investors. Falls Angel Fund has raised $1.35 million to invest in early-stage, high-growth companies in South Dakota. Paulson is an entrepreneur-in-residence at the Zeal Center for Entrepreneurship, an organizer of 1 Million Cups in Sioux Falls and has launched a Facebook group for local entrepreneurs.

Katie Mans

HenkinSchultz Creative Services

Katie Mans has joined HenkinSchultz Creative Services as a digital marketing strategist. She is a 2016 graduate of Augustana College and worked in property management marketing for a regional real estate development company. Mans is certified in Google AdWords and Google Analytics.

JLG Architects

Catherine Dekkenga

Architect Catherine Dekkenga has joined JLG Architects. Previously, she worked for Architecture Incorporated. Dekkenga is engaged in the community, serving as the chair of the facilities committee for the Levitt Shell, a member of the executive board of the Sioux Falls Public Schools Education Foundation and as a trustee at Central Church. She also is the vice chair of the citizen advisory committee for the Urbanized Development Commission of the South Eastern Council of Governments.

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy

Nicole Kasin

Nicole Kasin, executive director of the South Dakota Board of Accountancy, has received the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. The award recognizes a state board executive or administrator who has shown outstanding service to improving the effectiveness of accounting regulation on local and national fronts. She has been with the South Dakota board since 2006. Kasin serves on NASBA and AICPA committees and is a past chair and member of NASBA’s executive board.

 People You Should Know features new hires, promotions and awards involving top executives and organizations. For consideration, email Guaranteed placement is provided only to partners of SiouxFalls.Business.



Want to stay in the know?

Get our free business news delivered to your inbox.

People You Should Know

Here’s a look at this week’s People You Should Know

News Tip

Have a business news item to share with us?

Scroll to top