People You Should Know

JAN. 22, 2019

People You Should Know features new hires, promotions and awards involving top executives and organizations. For consideration, email Guaranteed placement is provided only to partners of SiouxFalls.Business.

USD Beacom School of Business

U.S. News & World Report has ranked the University of South Dakota Beacom School of Business online Master of Business Administration and Master of Professional Accountancy programs among the top in its rankings of 2019 Best Online Programs. USD was ranked 73rd out of 299 schools in the top online MBA programs, an increase of 20 spots and a score improvement of 15 points from the 2018 rankings. USD’s online MPA program ranked 56th out of 156 schools. For the 2019 report, U.S. News ranked both programs based on five categories: engagement, student excellence, expert opinion, faculty credentials and training, and student services and technologies.

American Bank & Trust

Scott Erickson

Dennis Daugaard

American Bank & Trust has appointed former Gov. Dennis Daugaard and Scott Erickson to its board of directors. Daugaard recently completed his second term as governor of South Dakota. He previously served as lieutenant governor and as a state senator. He also was the executive director of Children’s Home Society and spent 10 years with U.S. Bank as vice president, personal trusts. Erickson is CEO of E&E Management and president of Heartland Property Management and E&E Real Estate.

Ballard Spahr

Ballard Spahr has added three associates to its Sioux Falls law office.

Joshua Brown

Kelly Herrmann

Timothy Rahn

Timothy Rahn is a member of the litigation department. He works on civil defense matters. Before his legal career, Rahn was a teacher and spent time in South Korea.

Kelly Herrmann is a member of the business and finance department. Before joining the firm, Herrmann was a judicial law clerk for the U.S. District Court in South Dakota. She also served as a legal extern at the Pennington County Courthouse in Rapid City.

Joshua R. Brown is an associate in the business and finance department, where he handles real estate and tax matters. He also works on private client service matters, including estate planning, trust and estate administration, and business and tax planning. He has a well-established practice in Moody County.

Governor’s Conference on Tourism Awards

Gov. Kristi Noem and the South Dakota Department of Tourism have presented their annual awards at the Governor’s Conference on Tourism.

Jaqueline Wentworth

Ruth Ziolkowski Outstanding Hospitality & Customer Service Award: Amanda Allcock, Crazy Horse Memorial; Inez Muilenburg, Super 8 Hotel in Huron; Nova Steinhauser, Platte Creek Lodge; and Jaqueline Wentworth, Sioux Falls Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Rooster Rush Cacklin’ Community Award: Aberdeen.

George S. Mickelson Great Service Awards: Swiftel Center, Brookings, and Reptile Gardens, Rapid City.

Excellence in Tourism Innovation Award: Wylie Park and Storybook Land in Aberdeen.

A.H. Pankow Award: Mike Tanner, KWAT Radio in Watertown.

Ben Black Elk Award: Dennis and Sherry Povondra of Tabor.

Paige Menke

Hegg Realtors

Paige Menke has joined Hegg Realtors as a broker associate.



Home Builders Association of the Sioux Empire

Dusty Rallis

Dusty Rallis, president of Rallis Construction, has been installed as president of the Home Builders Association of the Sioux Empire. Rallis’ company specializes in light commercial and custom executive home construction. He joined the association in 2000. Other officers are first vice president, Brad Mair, A-Plus Construction; second vice president, Tom Jarding, Jarding Construction; associate vice president, Jerry Cook, Audio Video Integrations; secretary, Chane Patten, Builder’s Millwork & Window; treasurer, Michele Rislov, First Bank & Trust; and immediate past president, Kim Hefner-Hines, Allen Homes. New directors are Erik Christensen, Trademark Homes; Will DeWitt, Kwik Kerb; Joel Ingle, C-Lemme Cos.; and Doug Top, Top Construction.

South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Dana Dykhouse

Dana Dykhouse, CEO of First Premier Bank, has been elected chairman of the board of directors for the South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry. Brian Sandvig, CFO of Valley Queen Cheese Factory, is the chairman elect.

Want to stay in the know?

Get our free business news delivered to your inbox.

People You Should Know

Here’s a look at this week’s People You Should Know.

News Tip

Have a business news item to share with us?

Scroll to top