Sioux Empire United Way announces fundraising total, award winners

Feb. 6, 2018

The Sioux Empire United Way has met its fundraising goal for the 23rd consecutive year.

The 2018 campaign total is $10,060,0111 on a goal of $10,057,891.

“Sioux Empire United Way’s annual campaign is made possible because of our community’s commitment to working together for the common good,” said 2018 campaign chair Bob Thimjon.

The money raised during this year’s campaign will fund 89 programs at 40 agencies across the Sioux Empire. One in three people benefit from Sioux Empire United Way partner programs each year.

Among the funded programs this year is Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota’s PATH Program. Providing Access to Healing provides access to mental health counseling services to students at area schools. PATH serves students at 20 schools in Canton, Dell Rapids, Harrisburg, Tea Area and Sioux Falls school districts. The successful Sioux Empire United Way campaign means that PATH services have an opportunity to expand to serve additional schools and students.

“By supporting Sioux Empire United Way, people know that all 89 programs get adequate funding and are not overfunded,” Thimjon said. “All 89 programs have been reviewed by volunteers and deemed as needed for services that are effective and efficient, and that the allocated amount is necessary and not excessive.”

The Sioux Empire United Way also recognized the following award winners:

Larry Oppold Memorial Award – Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen, Lutheran Social Services.

Helen E. (Oppold) Blair Memorial Award – Diane Bauch, Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteer and employee of The First National Bank in Sioux Falls.

Business of the Year, 1-100 Employees – ReliaMax.

Business of the Year, 101-500 Employees – Five Star Call Centers.

Business of the Year, 500 + Employees – First Premier Bank/Premier Bankcard.

Brent Weiler Bulldog Award – Nicole Burns, Wells Fargo.

Rich Garry Rookie of the Year Award – Vicki Nelson, state of South Dakota.

Heart Club Philanthropist Award – Shelly Johnson, Lawrence & Schiller.

Volunteer of the Year Award – Kate Kotzea, Click Rain.

David Birkeland Memorial Award – Jeff Scherschligt, Howalt+McDowell, a Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC company.

These 96 employees accounted for 1% of United Way’s entire area goal


Want to stay in the know?

Get our free business news delivered to your inbox.

Sioux Empire United Way announces fundraising total, award winners

The Sioux Empire United Way has met its fundraising goal for the 23rd consecutive year.

News Tip

Have a business news item to share with us?

Scroll to top